Rashi (Moon Sign)

In Indian Astrology or Vedic Astrology, the whole universe is seen in the form of a person. The body of the universe consists of the 12 Rashis, which can be roughly translated as astrological signs. Each Rashi represents a part of the body. The Nav Graha or Nine Planets govern this universal body. The 12 Rashis are represented in the Maharishi Jyotish program as 12 equal segments of a circle, each covering 30 degrees.The sequence of the 12 Rashis begins with Mesha as the first Rashi.

Mesha (Aries)

Aries (Mesha)The Rashi symbol looks like a lamb head and is located at the head of Kala Purasha (Ursha major). It moves over pastoral lands and mountains. It lives in hidden places, fire, and the mines of metals and gems.

Vrishabh (Taurus)

Vrishabh (Taurus)The Rashi symbol is like a bull and represents the face and throat of the Kaal Purusha (Ursha major). It resides in the summits of mountains, cowsheds, and other places of animal habitats and agricultural lands.

Mithun (Gemini)

Mithun (Gemini)The Rashi symbol holds Veena and Gada (mace) and represents the hands and shoulders of Kaal Purusha (Ursha major). The places of dance, music, art galaries, artists, and entertainments are enveloped in its residence.

Karka (Cancer)

Karka (Cancer)The Karka (Cancer) rashi lives in water and represents the chest of Kaal Purusha (Ursha major). It moves in Agricultural lands, waterbodies, riversides and picturesque places.

Singha (Leo)

Singha (Leo)The rashi symbol looks like a lion, Singha Rashi lives in mountains and represents the hearts of Kaal Purusha (Ursha major). Forests, forts, caves, mountains are considered to be its residence.

Kanya (Virgo)

Kanya (Virgo)Kanya (Virgo) Rashi is like a maid holding a lamp and sitting on a boat, which is floating on water. It represents the abdomen of the Kaal Purusha (Ursha major). This stable sixth Rashi lives in the green places, places fit for sexual activity and artistic places.

Tula (Libra)

Tula (Libra)A man placing goods for sale on a balance, which is the picture of Tula ( Libra ) rashi. It represents the lower abdomen of the Kaal Purusha (Ursha major) and lives among the places of merchandising, and lands yielding good vegetables.

Vrishchika (Scorpio)

Vrishchika (Scorpio)Scorpion or Vrishchika (Scorpio) Rashi represents the private parts of male and females. It dwells in places like caves, water bodies and poisonous shrubs, and places fit for venomous snakes, insects and pythons.

Dhanu (Sagittarius)

Dhanu (Sagittarius)Dhanu (Sagittarius) Rashi appears like a man wielding a bow, whose rear half of the body is like a horse. This Rashi represents the thighs of the Kalpurusha (The Ursha Major) and dwells in the forests infested by elephants, stables, armories, vehicles of war fares and so on.

Makar (Capricorn)

Makar (Capricorn)The frontal part of the Makar (Capricorn) rashi is like a deer nad the rear part is that of an alligator. Being water dweller, this Rashi represents the knees of the kaal purusha and its favourite places include rivers, forests etc.

Kumbha (Aquarius)

Kumbha (Aquarius)The symbol of Kumbha (Aquarius) rashi is like a man holding a pitcher on his shoulder and it represents the thighs of the Kaalpurusha (Ursha Major). Shallow areas, lands producing coarse vegetables, markets of birds, alcohol, and women and gambling dens are the places of its dwelling.

Meen (Pisces)

Meen (Pisces)The symbol of this rashi is like a pair of fishes, the last rashi of the rashichakra, Meen (Pisces) denotes the feet of the Kaal purusha (Ursha major), and it dwells in the holy places of religious divine and social importance.

Know Your Rashi